7 comments on “Sana’a afternoon in Suq Al-Milh

  1. “as if everything that exists,
    aromas, light, metals,
    were little boats
    that sail
    toward those isles of yours that wait for me”
    Pablo Neruda

  2. breathtaking and made me wanna pause my life for a second..
    LOL! hope that wont raise ur blood pressure!

  3. This is my favourite. Cannot remember how many times I saw it. I come to your site whenever I get homesick. Your blog is like bitter-sweet chocolate. Got addicted. Looking forward the next piece.

    • Wow. Thats a lot of praise.. I used to love starting the walk in chaotic ugly tahrir and cross over into that world. If the North of Yemen does lose its ability to sustain its population and it leads to a shift to the south, I still think Old Sanaa will stay inhabited. Its too beautiful to be deserted.

      • That’s exactly how I feel when I return from some business outside, cross the chaotic market of Bab al-Sabah, take the stone bridge across Saila and then….ahhhh back home again. Always meeting the same people at the same places as if nothing would ever change. Like the old lady who asks me about my kids and family and never letting me pass by without urging me to take one of her three kiddam she just bought at the bakery aroung the corner. Always hesitated to take it cz I know that she has not a lot more than these three kiddam for the day. Give her a lot of kisses in return. I hope she will be still there when I come back.

Leave a reply Without Raising My Blood-pressure

